Monday, January 26, 2009

Eclipse winners!

Here are the Eclipse winners for 2008!

2 year old male- Midshipman
2 year old female- Stardom Bound
Turf male- Conduit
Turf female- Forever together
Steeplechase- Good night shirt
3 year old male- Big brown
3 year old female- Proud Spell
Jockey- Garret Gomez
Apprentice jockey- Pascacio Lopez
Older Female- Zenyatta
Older Male- Curlin
Trainer- Steve Asmussen
Male sprinter- Benny the Bull
Female sprinter- Indian Blessing
Breeder- Adena Springs
Owner- Stronach Stables
Horse of the Year- Curlin

I do have to say that I'm not surprised Curlin is Horse of the year again. He made history by breaking the earnings to 10 million. He is also a Great to be remembered. I'am disappointed though, that they picked Midshipman, Conduit, and Forever together for their categories. I think that Vineyard Haven or Old fashioned should have won over Midshipman, Einstein over Conduit, and definitely Goldikova over Forever together. I mean for goodness sakes, Goldikova won over the guys in the Turf! Whatever, it's not my choice. I'm also glad Steve Asmussen won over Richard Dutrow. I have a strong dislike of him after the incidents with Big Brown, and other horses under his care. Otherwise everyone else that won I'm happy about. Have a great night everyone!


  1. Great blog, you have a lot of information posted here! Oh, and I agree with you...Goldikova should have won Turf Female.

  2. Thanks! And I know she should have won with that performance.